2023 Malawi Tourism Industry Awards Nominees Announced

Malawi Tourism
12 September, 2023

The official voting portal is now opened and voting has commenced as the final list of the nominees for the 2023 Malawi Tourism Industry Awards of Excellence has been released the Malawi Tourism Council (MTC). This information was made available via a press released dated 12 September 2023 and signed by the Executive Director of the Malawi Tourism Council, Memory Momba Kamthunzi.

The Malawi Tourism Industry Awards serve as a prominent platform to celebrate and acknowledge outstanding contributions and achievements within the Malawi tourism and hospitality sector through different categories of excellence. They aim to recognize, reward, and inspire excellence among individuals, organizations, and destinations that play a vital role in the nation’s tourism industry.

The 2023 Tourism Awards of Excellence Ceremony and Gala will take place at the Banqueting Hall, Bingu International Convention Centre (BICC) in Lilongwe, on Saturday 30th September 2023, from 6pm. This Gala event will bring together industry leaders, innovators, and stakeholders for a night of glamour, recognition, and celebration.

Theme: Promoting Competitiveness through Industry Excellence and Resilience.

The 2023 Nominee final list from all Tourism sub-sectors who met the selection criteria and members of Malawi Tourism Council are as follows:

The Leading Hotel Award

  • Amaryllis Hotels
  • Crossroads Hotel Blantyre
  • President Hotel
  • Protea Hotel by Marriott
  • Sunbird Capital

The Leading Lodge Award

  • Leslie Lodge
  • Kumbali Lodge
  • Game heaven Lodge
  • Fishermen’s Nest
  • Hippo View Lodge

The Leading Lake Resort

  • Club Makokola Retreat
  • Ekhaya Luxury Resort
  • Mumbo Island
  • The Sunbird Waterfront
  • Sigelege Beach Resort

The Leading National Park/Game Reserve Lodge

  • Tongole Wilderness Lodge
  • Thawale Lodge
  • Chelinda Lodge
  • Kutchire Lodge
  • Mvuu Lodge

The Leading Meetings and Conference Centre

  • Bingu international convention Centre BICC
  • Amaryllis Hotel
  • Sunbird Nkopola
  • Sigelege Hotel
  • Grand Palace Hotel

The Leading Restaurant Award

  • Mama Mia Restaurant, Lilongwe
  • Imperial Food court, Nkhatabay
  • Food Court Chicken Inn/Pizza Inn, Blantyre
  • Mijn Kitchen, Blantyre
  • Warm Heart Café, Lilongwe

The Leading Chef Award

  • Chef Mwagombe
  • Chef Manase
  • Chef Kapina
  • Chef Chikolera

The Leading Airline Award

  • Ethiopian Airlines
  • Kenya Airways
  • South African
  • Fly Nyasa

The Leading Car Hire Award

  • Apex Car Hire
  • Mame Car Hire
  • Avis Car Hire
  • Anna’s Car Rental
  • Skywave

The Leading Tour Operator Award

  • Adventures with Colby Expedition Co
  • Central Wilderness Safaris
  • Travel Centre MW (Blantyre)
  • Orbis DMC Ltd
  • Misuku Expeditions

The Upcoming Tour Operator Award

  • Sesame Safaris
  • Flood gates Tours

The Leading Travel Agent Award

  • Satguru Travel & Tours, Lilongwe
  • The Travel Centre
  • Blue Berry
  • Stars Travel
  • Top Travel

The Leading Tour Guide Award

  • Vasco Munthali, Land and Lake Safaris
  • Kingsley Mmabo, Zomba Hikers Alliance
  • Edward Satha, Crafted Africa
  • Malizani ‘Mali’ Mulenga, Mkulumadzi Majete Game Reserve
  • Camstar Supuni – Mount Mulanje porters and Guides Association

The Leading Game reserve/National Park Award

  • Majete Game Reserve
  • Liwonde National Park
  • Nkhotakota Game Reserve

The Leading Community based Tourism Organisation (CBTO) Excellence Award

  • Chingalile Cultural Village
  • Gwilize Cultural Village
  • Mpale Cultural (Mangochi)
  • Kungoni Cultural Centre
  • Kandewe Cultural Village

Green Tourism Award

  • Zomba Forest Lodge
  • Luwawa Forest Lodge
  • Waterfront, Sunbird
  • Game Haven Lodge
  • Kaya Mawa

Life Achievers Award

  • Napoleoan Dzombe
  • Prophet Shepherd Bushiri
  • Annie Fletcher
  • The 44 Lodge Management

Destination Promotion Individual Award

  • Tay Grin. Music, Artist
  • Faith Mussa, Artist
  • Peter Makwana, Photographer
  • Travel with Mervis, Travel Blogger

Malawi’s Leading Tourist Attraction Award (People’s choice on the day)

  • Mount Mulanje
  • Majete Game Reserve
  • The Kungoni Centre of Cultural and Arts
  • Likoma Island
  • Lake Malawi National Park

Allied Influencers of Destination Malawi Award

  • William Kamkwamba
  • I am from Malawi, Apparel and Song (KBG)
  • Shemu Joya, Film maker
  • Madalitso Band
  • Lake of Stars Festival

Voting Portal Opens on 12 September 2023

As part of the awards process, MTC is inviting the public, industry professionals, and stakeholders to participate by casting their votes for their favourite nominees. The official online voting portal was opened on 12 September at 6PM and will remain accessible to September 27th, 2023. Votes will play a crucial role in determining the winners across various award categories. To cast your vote and support your favourite nominees, visit the official online voting portal and follow the instructions provided.

The Malawi Tourism Council is dedicated to promoting the growth and excellence of the Malawi tourism sector. Your participation in this voting process and attendance at the awards ceremony will contribute to the success of this endeavour.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Scroll to Top
Scroll to Top